Any incident where a driver crashes into a person, a piece of property or another vehicle and continues driving is a hit-and-run. ABC reports that between 2006 and 2017, the average national annual rate of fatalities from such incidents was over 1,200.
If you sustained injuries from such a situation, referred to as a “hit skip” in Ohio, there exist legal avenues for you to obtain compensation. There are some facts you need to know first.
1. There is a time limit
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in the Buckeye State is two years. You need to file within this time period. The countdown to this limit begins at the time the incident occurred.
2. There is a damages cap
The law does not restrict economic damages. Noneconomic ones (pain and suffering) are either three times the awarded economic payments, or $250,000, whichever is the greater value. The absolute maximum is $350,000 per plaintiff. This applies only to less impactful injuries.
Compensation for catastrophic wounds (permanent deformity, loss of use of limbs or organs and any injuries that prevent you from performing tasks necessary to survival) has no ceiling. Fines for punishing the offender are not to exceed twice the amount of compensatory damages you receive.
3. There is a need for identifying information
It is impossible to file a claim against those whose identity is unknown or their insurance. It is important to gather information about the other party like license plate number and automobile descriptors if possible.
In Ohio, uninsured motor insurance does not cover hit skips. Other forms of coverage do in the event you are unable to find the responsible persons.